Board of Directors

Andrew G. Sugrue

Chairman of the Board

Andrew laid the groundwork for what is now EACEF as a high school exchange student in Kenya in the Spring of 2007. From that first experience at age 17, Andrew has led the organization's expansion from building one library at a local primary school in Kenya to a multinational effort focused on holistically improving primary education across Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda. Andrew has traveled extensively in his capacity as Chairman of EACEF, representing the organization at conferences and events at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, DC and the Skoll World Forum on Social Entrepreneurship in Oxford, England, among others. 

Andrew is active in public policy, education and international relations. Andrew serves on the Advisory Board of the McCain Institute's flagship Next Generation Leaders program and on the Institute's Eastern Congo provincial elections working group. He also serves as Co-Chair of the American Enterprise Institute's AEI30 Initiative; as Co-Chair of the Parrish Art Museum's Contemporaries Circle; and as a member of the Alumni Council of the Robertson Scholars Program at Duke University and UNC-Chapel Hill. He was named a 2013 New York Leader by the Foreign Policy Initiative. He previously served as a foreign policy advisor to Governor Romney's 2012 Presidential Campaign on Africa and Human Rights issues. 

Andrew is currently an investor with Catterton, a consumer-focused private equity firm in Greenwich, CT. He previously worked at Peter J. Solomon Company, a boutique investment bank, in their Mergers and Acquisitions group in New York City. As a Robertson Scholar, Andrew received a B.A. in Global Studies and Political Science from the Honors Program at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master of Management Studies from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University. 

Joshua M. Ford

Joshua is a strategy and transformation consultant with IBM based out of Washington, DC. At IBM, Joshua consults for Fortune 500 companies to help reduce costs, streamline processes, increase market share, and improve customer satisfaction. He serves on the Board of Trustees of the Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership Foundation. From 2012-2013, he was a Fulbright Scholar in Mexico City where he worked for Endeavor Mexico. Joshua graduated from the Honors Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he was a Morehead-Cain Scholar. He has traveled extensively in Latin America, Europe, Asia, and Africa and has lived in Ecuador, Mexico and Argentina. He speaks Spanish fluently. Joshua joined the Board of EACEF in 2013.

Patrick J. Furlong  

Patrick is an Associate in the Mergers and Acquisitions Group at Peter J. Solomon Company, a leading boutique investment bank in New York City. He is a magna cum laude graduate of the Huntsman Program, a select dual-degree program in international studies and business at the University of Pennsylvania, where he wrote an honors thesis on neoliberal economic development. He holds a B.A. degree in International Studies from the School of Arts and Sciences and a B.S. degree in Economics from the Wharton School of Business. Patrick has lived and traveled extensively in Latin America, Europe and the Middle East. Patrick joined the Board of EACEF in 2014. 

Debra A. Gregory-Sugrue

Debbe is a financial services professional and philanthropist. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Fugees Family, a refugee assistance program, and Ribbons of Hope, an Atlanta-based foundation. She previously was a Vice President with J.P. Morgan, a leading global financial services firm. Debbe formerly served as a Director and Owner of Hendon & Sugrue, an executive search and consulting firm based out of Atlanta, and brings twenty years of legal and financial services expertise to EACEF. Debbe has occupied senior level roles at Neuberger Berman and SunTrust. Previously practicing law, Debbe holds an undergraduate degree from the Honors College at Western Michigan University and a J.D.from the University of Toledo College of Law. Debbe joined the Board of EACEF in 2009.

Stewart L. Long

Stewart is an investor with Catterton, a consumer-focused private equity firm in Greenwich, CT. She was previously in the Consumer / Retail investment banking group at Goldman Sachs in New York City. Stewart graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a B.A. in English from the Honors Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Stewart joined the Board of EACEF in 2013.

Nemmy Ngigi

Nemmy is a recent graduate of the Catholic University of Eastern Africa where he received a Bachelors of Law in 2014. In January of 2015, he will join the Kenya School of Law for his post graduate diploma in law, after which he will become an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya. He is currently working at the Kilimani Project Foundation, a community development non-governmental organization established to improve the social-economic welfare of those that live and work in the suburb of Kilimani in Nairobi, Kenya. He is an active volunteer with a number of organizations across Nairobi and Central Province, Kenya. He has traveled to the United States and the Middle East, and extensively in Africa.

Brian A. Riemer

Brian is an Associate at Audax Mezzanine, a leading capital source for middle market companies. He also is a partner at Riemer Brothers LLC, a South Florida based real estate company. Previously, Brian worked as an Investment Banking Analyst with Peter J. Solomon Company in the Mergers & Acquisitions and Restructuring Groups. He received an A.B. with honors in Economics from Harvard University.

Kimberly N. Steed

Kimberly is a Manager of Corporate Development at Danaher, a global science and technology company. She recently graduated with Distinction from INSEAD with a Master of Business Administration. She previously worked at Investcorp, a global private equity firm, in their Gulf Growth Capital group based in Manama, Bahrain. Prior, she worked at Deutsche Bank as an Analyst in the Global Mergers and Acquisitions group in New York City. Kim received her B.Sc. in Economics and a Certificate in Public Health Policy from Duke University where she was a Robertson Scholar. Kim joined the Board of EACEF in 2011.